ALT + + Change font size
ALT + / Change contrast
ALT + Q Quicklinks
ALT + P Header menu
ALT + M Main menu
ALT + U Footer
ALT + G Sitemap
ALT + O Search
ALT + I Content
ALT + K Contact
ESC Reset All

Emeritus Professors

Emeritus Professors of the former Faculty of Automotive Engineering and of the former Faculty of Mechanical Engineering/ Automotive Engineering (the list is not exhaustive; in alphabetical order):

  • † Prof. Dr. Albrecht Eßlinger, Electrical engineering, electronics, EDP
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Axel Bahr, Thermodynamics, Machine Measurement Technology, Flow Machines, Combustion Engines, Steam Turbines
  • Prof. Dr. techn. Hartmut Bathelt, Measurement Technology, Acoustics
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eberhard Birkel, Strength Theory, Technical Mechanics
  • Prof. Erich Schindler, Vehicle Dynamics, Active Safety and Shassis Technology, Vehicle Control Systems, Overall Vehicle Behaviour (Driver-Vehicle-Environment)
  • Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael Gipser, Simulation, Vehicle Dynamics, Multibody Dynamics
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Karl-Ernst Hailer, Motor Vehicles, Drive Technology, Chassis, Oil hydraulics and Pneumatics
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Hedrich, Materials Engineering, Joining Technologies
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Henning, Car Body Development, Construction
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lothar Issler, Strength Theory, Welding, Materials Testing, Damage Science
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Werner Jetter, Technical Mechanics
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Ott, Technical Mechanics, Design Theory, Automotive Engineering, Chassis Technology
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Klaus Schellmann, Internal Combustion Engines
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Peter Schmid, Process, Quality and Project Management
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Hermann Vetter, Electronics, Microcomputer Technology
  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Prof. h.c./YZU Gerhard Walliser, Control Engineering

List of former professors of the Faculty of Basic Sciences, which existed until 2021

Apply for winter semester 2023/24!

Start of studies in the winter semester 2023/24: The application phase for the winter semester 2023/24 begins on 02 May 2023.
(Please note the different application times for our international Master's programmes).

More information